2001 Recipient—Anne Gould Hauberg

Anne Gould Hauberg was the 2001 recipient of the Dorothy Stimson Bullitt Award. Anne has been a dedicated patron and advocate of the arts for over 65 years and has been instrumental in helping establish organizations offering art classes for therapy and artistic development for children at risk. She has also been supportive of local artists.

Her volunteer activities include:

  • Junior League member since 1941
  • Launched Pacific Northwest Arts Council
  • Established the Pacific Arts Center (Art Reach)
  • Founded Friends of the Crafts
  • Founded Pilchuck Glass School with John Hauberg and Dale Chihuly
  • Northwest Designer Craftsmen, Founder
  • Seattle Arts Commission member—two terms
  • Pletscheef Institute for Decorative Arts, Board of Directors
  • Tacoma Art Museum, Board of Directors
  • International Glass Museum, Board of Directors
  • Colonial Dames, Board
  • Founding member of Committee 33
  • Founded the University of Washington Pilot School E.E.U.

She has also received the following community and international awards:

  • King County Arts Commission Service Award
  • The Doris Bronson Merrill Award
  • Seattle Center Legion of Honor Award
  • American Crafts Council Aileen Osburn Wedd Award
  • Safeco Art Leadership Award
  • Matrix Table Women of Achievement Award
  • Endowed Library Fund, UW Bookmark Artist Image Award
  • 2000 American Craft Museum Visionary Award, New York